The Beaufort Lagoon Ecosystems Team

Project Leads

Name Affiliation Role Phone Email
Ken Dunton The University of Texas at Austin Project Director 361-749-6744 ken.dunton@utexas.edu
James McClelland The University of Texas at Austin Co-Project Director 361-749-6756 jimm@utexas.edu
Byron C. Crump Oregon State University Institution Lead 541-737-4369 bcrump@coas.oregonstate.edu
Katrin Iken University of Alaska Fairbanks Institution Lead 907-474-5192 kbiken@alaska.edu
Vanessa L. Lougheed The University of Texas at El Paso Institution Lead 915-747-6887 vlougheed@utep.edu
Michael A. Rawlins University of Massachusetts Amherst Institution Lead 413-545-0659 rawlins@geo.umass.edu

Investigators

Name Affiliation Areas of Expertise Phone Email
Byron C. Crump Oregon State University Microbial ecology and metagenomics in estuarine and freshwater ecosystems 541-737-4369 bcrump@coas.oregonstate.edu
Ken Dunton The University of Texas at Austin Drivers of changes in community structure, resilience, and trophic linkages 361-749-6744 ken.dunton@utexas.edu
Amber K. Hardison The University of Texas at Austin Effect of organic and nutrient terrestrial inputs on lagoon biogeochemical processes 361-749-6705 amber.hardison@utexas.edu
Katrin Iken University of Alaska Fairbanks Drivers of changes in community structure, resilience, and trophic linkages 907-474-5192 kbiken@alaska.edu
Jeremy L. Kasper University of Alaska Fairbanks Circulation dynamics between lagoons and sea 907-888-2534 jlkasper@alaska.edu
Vanessa L. Lougheed The University of Texas at El Paso Ecosystem metabolism, biogeochemical cycling, education & outreach 915-747-6887 vlougheed@utep.edu
James McClelland The University of Texas at Austin Land to sea fluxes; biogeochemical cycling; estuarine ecosystem dynamics 361-749-6756 jimm@utexas.edu
Bailey C. McMeans University of Toronto Mississauga Drivers of changes in community structure, resilience, and trophic linkages 905-569-4959 bailey.mcmeans@utoronto.ca
Andrew R. Mahoney University of Alaska Fairbanks Circulation dynamics between lagoons and sea 907-474-5382 armahoney@alaska.edu
Michael A. Rawlins University of Massachusetts Amherst Nutrient and water transport into lagoon systems; hydrological and biogeochemical modeling 413-545-0659 rawlins@geo.umass.edu
Yvette H. Spitz Oregon State University Ecosystem modeling 541-737-3227 yspitz@coas.oregonstate.edu
Craig E. Tweedie The University of Texas at El Paso Coastal erosion, biogeochemical cycling, cyberinfrastructure 915-747-8448 ctweedie@utep.edu

Program Managers

Name Affiliation Phone Email
Christina Bonsell The University of Texas at Austin 805-455-5899 cbonsell@utexas.edu
Nathan McTigue The University of Texas at Austin 678-425-4732 mctigue@utexas.edu

Information Manager

Name Affiliation Areas of Expertise Phone Email
Tim Whiteaker The University of Texas at Austin Data management, website 512-471-0570 whiteaker@utexas.edu