Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

The BLE LTER Team

Project Leads

Name Affiliation Role Phone Email

Ken Dunton

The University of Texas at Austin Project Director 361-749-6744 ken.dunton@utexas.edu

James McClelland

The University of Texas at Austin Co-Project Director 361-749-6756 jimm@utexas.edu

Investigators

Name Affiliation Areas of Expertise Phone Email

Byron C. Crump

Oregon State University Microbial ecology and metagenomics in estuarine and freshwater ecosystems 541-737-4369 byron.crump@oregonstate.edu
Ken Dunton The University of Texas at Austin Drivers of changes in community structure, resilience, and trophic linkages 361-749-6744 ken.dunton@utexas.edu

Amber K. Hardison

Viriginia Institute of Marine Science, College of William & Mary Effect of organic and nutrient terrestrial inputs on lagoon biogeochemical processes 361-749-6705 akhardison@vims.edu

Katrin Iken

University of Alaska Fairbanks Drivers of changes in community structure, resilience, and trophic linkages 907-474-5192 kbiken@alaska.edu

Jeremy L. Kasper

University of Alaska Fairbanks Circulation dynamics between lagoons and sea 907-888-2534 jlkasper@alaska.edu

Vanessa L. Lougheed

The University of Texas at El Paso Ecosystem metabolism, biogeochemical cycling, Diversity & Inclusion representative 915-747-6887 vlougheed@utep.edu
James McClelland The University of Texas at Austin Land to sea fluxes; biogeochemical cycling; estuarine ecosystem dynamics 361-749-6756 jimm@utexas.edu

Bailey C. McMeans

University of Toronto Mississauga Drivers of changes in community structure, resilience, and trophic linkages 905-569-4959 bailey.mcmeans@utoronto.ca

Andrew R. Mahoney

University of Alaska Fairbanks Circulation dynamics between lagoons and sea 907-474-5382 armahoney@alaska.edu

Michael A. Rawlins

University of Massachusetts Amherst Nutrient and water transport into lagoon systems; hydrological and biogeochemical modeling 413-545-0659 rawlins@geo.umass.edu

Yvette H. Spitz

Oregon State University Circulation/Biogeochemical modeling 541-737-3227 yvette.spitz@oregonstate.edu

Craig E. Tweedie

The University of Texas at El Paso Coastal erosion, biogeochemical cycling, cyberinfrastructure 915-747-8448 ctweedie@utep.edu

Project Management

Name Affiliation Phone Email

Nathan McTigue

The University of Texas at Austin mctigue@utexas.edu

Information Management

Name Affiliation Areas of Expertise Phone Email

Tim Whiteaker

The University of Texas at Austin Data management, website 512-471-0570 whiteaker@utexas.edu

An T. Nguyen

The University of Texas at Austin Ecological data analysis, R 512-471-0570 enthusiast@utexas.edu

Graduate Students

Name Affiliation Advisor Email

Emily M. Bristol

The University of Texas at Austin James McClelland bristol@utexas.edu

Julio Ceniceros

The University of Texas at El Paso Craig Tweedie jeceniceros@miners.utep.edu

Stephen Escargarza

The University of Texas at El Paso Craig Tweedie smescarzaga@utep.edu

Daniel Fraser

The University of Texas at Austin Ken Dunton danielfraser@utexas.edu

Natasha Griffin

Oregon State University Byron Crump grifnata@oregonstate.edu

Brian S. Kim

Virginia Institute of Marine Science, College of William & Mary Amber Hardison bskim@vims.edu

Anne Krone

Oregon State University Byron Crump kronea@oregonstate.edu

Sasha Peterson

The University of Texas at El Paso Craig Tweedie speterson2@miners.utep.edu

Jacob Pratt

University of Alaska Fairbanks Andy Mahoney jwpratt2@alaska.edu

Aquanette Sanders

The University of Texas at Austin James McClelland aqua.sanders@utexas.edu

Alina Spera

The University of Texas at El Paso Vanessa Lougheed aspera@miners.utep.edu

Sydney Wilkinson

University of Alaska Fairbanks Katrin Iken swilkinson4@alaska.edu

Other Project Personnel

Name Affiliation Role Email

Eloise Brown

University of Alaska Fairbanks Research Technician ejbrown@alaska.edu

Ryan Cody

The University of Texas at El Paso Research Technician: GIS, field instruments rpcody@utep.edu

Vincent Combes

Oregon State University Research Associate: biogeochemical modeling vincent.combes@oregonstate.edu

Katie Gavenus

Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies Education Coordinator katieg@akcoastalstudies.org

Stephanie Jump

University of Alaska Fairbanks Research Technician sjump@alaska.edu

Kaylie Plumb

The University of Texas at Austin Research Assistant kaylie.plumb@austin.utexas.edu

Taylor Poirrier

University of Alaska Fairbanks Research Technician tmpoirrier@alaska.edu

Gesuri Ramirez

The University of Texas at El Paso Research Technician: hardware, time lapse cameras gramirez12@utep.edu

Susan Schonberg

The University of Texas at Austin Research Associate susan.schonberg@utexas.edu

Lizette Gonzalez

The University of Texas at El Paso REU Student lgonzalez34@miners.utep.edu

Affiliated Investigators

Name Affiliation Expertise Email

Amanda Kelley

University of Alaska Fairbanks Ecological physiology alkelley@alaska.edu

Vanessa von Biela

U.S. Geological Survey Aquatic ecology vvonbiela@usgs.gov

Claire Griffin

University of Virginia Aquatic biogeochemistry griffin.claireg@gmail.com